GRK1172 Summer School 2009

Direction Swabia for research

GRK 1172 organized this year’s summer school in Löwenstein (Wuerttemberg)

Last week. it took our 50 students only seconds to discover the advantages of meeting within vineyards in the region of Heilbronn. For our traditional summer school, the Convention Centre of the Protestant Church high above the rooftops of small villages was the perfect successor of the Alpinian village Aigen. Every year, the summer school provides our PhD students an ideal platform for scientific exchange and the building of new cooperations within the graduate school.

Motivational Certificates for the First Time

As incentive for improved presentations we had motivational certificates in category “Scientific Presentation“ during our summer school for the first time. Tobias Abel got a certificate for best graphic design and Robert Jabulowsky for best oral presentation.

Top-class Speakers

Guest speaker Meike Vogler (MRC Toxicology Unit, University of Leicester, UK) gave a lecture on “Mechanisms of cell death induced by Bcl2 antagonists“. Hildegard Büning (University Hospital of Cologne), our second guest speaker, was happy to answer the student’s questions on her lecture on “Nanoparticles for gene transfer and gene therapy – the AAV vector system“.

“Old Hands“ Involved

Even our students who are close before their PhD examination came to Löwenstein to support the “new ones“ in entering our GRK 1172 platform. Again, the strenghts of our school are pointed out: Together to success – even beyond the borders of single disciplines.

Nobody Missed our Barbecue

Besides beachvolleyball, soccer and ping-pong we went climbing with the experts of the German Alpine Club in our leisure time. Free time was happily spent for a walk oder a jog through the vineyards and woods and in the evening nobody missed our barbecue.

Improved

Because of the convention centre’s facilities shared by supervisors and students we all had the possibilities to sit together after dinner and talk on research as well as on a broad range of other topics. And some even re-arranged their schedule just to stay a little bit longer in Löwenstein. Prof. Dr. Josef Pfeilschifter and Prof. Dorothee Meike von Laer agree on the fact, that this year’s summer school was a complete success and will shape the standards of 2010.

GRK1172 Summer School 2009


Für die Forschung Richtung Schwabenländle

GRK 1172 richtete diesjährige Summer School im württembergischen Löwenstein aus

Dass es sich in den Weinbergen der Heilbronner Gegend gut tagen lässt, haben die rund 50 Studenten des GRK 1172 in der vergangenen Woche schnell festgestellt. Die Evangelische Tagungsstätte hoch über den Dächern der umliegenden Dörfer bot die perfekte Nachfolge des kleinen Alpenörtchens Aigen für die bereits traditionsbehaftete Summer School, die jährlich den Doktoranden eine optimale Plattform für den wissenschaftlichen Austausch und für die Bildung von Kooperationen untereinander fördert.

Erstmals Motivationsurkunden

Als Anreiz für verbesserte Vorträge und Präsentationen gab es erstmals während der Summer School Motivationsurkunden in der Kategorie „Scientific Presentation“. Für Tobias Abel gab es die Auszeichnung für die beste Grafik und für Robert Jabulowsky für die beste mündliche Präsentation.

Hochkarätige Gäste

Mit von der Partie waren die Gastsprecher Meike Vogler (MRC Toxicology Unit, University of Leicester, UK), die über die „Mechanisms of cell death induced by Bcl2 antagonists“ referierte, und Hildegard Büning (Klinikum der Universität Köln) die nach ihrem Vortrag „Nanoparticles for gene transfer and gene therapy – the AAV vector system“ Rede und Antwort stand.

„Alte Hasen“ dabei

Auch viele derjenigen Doktoranden, die kurz vor ihrer Abgabe stehen, haben es sich nicht nehmen lassen zur Summer School zu kommen um den „Neuen“ bei ihrem Einstieg in das Programm des Graduiertenkollegs 1172 behilflich zu sein. Die Stärke des Kollegs wurde wieder einmal herausstrichen: Gemeinsam zum Erfolg auch über die disziplinaren Grenzen hinaus.

Gemeinsames Barbecue ließ sich keiner entgehen

Neben Beachvolleyball, Fußball und Tischtennis stand auch Klettern mit den Profis des Deutschen Alpenvereins auf dem Freizeitprogramm. Freie Zeit nutzte man auch gerne für einen Spaziergang oder eine Jogging-Runde durch die angrenzenden Weinfelder oder Wälder und das gemeinsame Barbecue ließ sich keiner entgehen.

Verbessert

Durch die gemeinsame Unterkunft von Betreuer und Studenten in der Tagungsstätte mit angegliederten Seminarräumen blieb nach dem Abendessen Zeit für bunte Gespräche bis in den späten Abend hinein und so manch einer verschob heimatliche Termine für einen weiteren Tag in Löwenstein. Prof. Dr. Josef Pfeilschifter und Prof. Dorothee Meike von Laer sind sich einig, dass die diesjährige Summer School ein voller Erfolg war, der die Ansprüche an 2010 prägen wird.