Scientific Meeting at the Cistercian Abbey Arnsburg

14th to 16th september 2006


Second meeting behind abbey walls:
Summer School of the GRK1172 from September 14th to 16th, 2006, shows first successes of the young programme

This weekend the second scientific meeting, the „Summer School“, of the DFG-funded research training group (GRK) 1172 of the Goethe-University took place at the conference centre of Arnsburg Abbey near Lich. The GRK1172 started in Summer 2005 and addresses the research, development and safety of biopharmaceutical drugs (biologicals).

Visible progress

Focus of the GRK1172 meeting was the extensive presentation by the 23 PhD students of their current research projects and the result so far obtained. As in the previous year, the projects were





discussed later in the established “Thesis Committees” consisting of the main supervisor and two further senior members (docents) of the GRK1172 as co-supervisors. Next useful steps for the project as well as possible problems and their solutions were debated. Very importantly, the clearly visible progresses in the first year were recognised and appreciated.

Furthermore lectures by external speakers were included in the meeting’s programme, with the idea of having experts from outside there as further education of the PhD students. Dr. Armin Bender of the hospital Krankenhaus Nordwest in Frankfurt presented new findings for the immune therapy of certain cancer types. Prof. Christoph Baum of the Hannover Medical School reported on improved viral vectors for gene therapy with decreased risk for mutations. A special benefit was the animated and very helpful discussions of the guest speakers with the GRK1172 PhD students about their projects.

Wissenschaftliche Tagung im Kloster Arnsburg

14. bis 16. September 2006


Zweite Tagung hinter Klostermauern:
Summer School des GRK1172 vom 14. bis 16. September 2006 zeigt erste Erfolge des jungen Programms

An diesem Wochenende fand zum zweiten Mal eine als "Summer School" organisierte Tagung des von der DFG geförderten Graduiertenkollegs 1172 der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt im Tagungszentrum Kloster Arnsburg bei Lich statt. Das GRK1172 wurde im Sommer 2005 eingerichtet und widmet sich der Erforschung, Entwicklung und Sicherheit von biotechnologisch hergestellten Arzneimitteln (Biologicals).

Sichtbare Fortschritte

Schwerpunkt der Tagung des GRK1172 war eine ausführliche Präsentation der bearbeiteten Forschungsprojekte und der bisher erzielten Ergebnisse durch die 23 teilnehmenden Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. Wie im letzten Jahr wurden





die Projekte in anschließenden ausführlichen Gesprächen mit den bereits bewährten "Thesis Committees" aus den direkten Betreuern der Doktorarbeiten und zwei weiteren Dozenten des GRK1172 als Ko-Betreuer besprochen, sinnvolle nächste Schritte festgelegt und wo nötig auch Probleme und mögliche Lösungswege intensiv diskutiert. Auch die zum Teil schon deutlich sichtbaren Fortschritte der erst seit einem Jahr an ihren Projekten arbeitenden Stipendiaten wurden gewürdigt.

Daneben wurden zur Weiterbildung der Doktoranden erstmals auch Vorträge externer Sprecher in das Programm der Tagung aufgenommen. So stellte Dr. Armin Bender vom Krankenhaus Nordwest in Frankfurt neue Ansätze zur Immuntherapie von Krebserkrankungen vor. Prof. Christopher Baum von der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover berichtete über verbesserte virale Vektoren für die Gentherapie mit verringertem Mutationsrisiko. Ein besonderer Gewinn war auch die Teilnahme der externen Gäste an den lebendigen und hilfreichen Diskussionen über die Promotionsprojekte des GRK1172.