Scientific Communications at Arnsburg Abbey

04th and 05th november 2005


Support for scientific exchange:
First Retreat of the GRK1172 "Biologicals" from November 4th to 5th, 2005, was a raving success

For two days, 20 PhD students together with their supervisors held the first retreat of the GRK1172 at Arnsburg Abbey near Lich. The DFG-funded research training group 1172 at the Goethe-University Frankfurt was established in summer 2005 and addresses the research, development and safety of biopharmaceutical drugs (biologicals).

Platform for Exchange

Main aims of the retreat were the first shared meeting of all PhD students of the GRK1172 to get to know each other, the scientific exchange and the establishing of contacts. The scholarship holders of the GRK1172 presented their PhD projects in 15 minute talks and could in most cases already announce promising results. Subsequently a animated discussion followed with PhD students and supervisors alike. In a smaller circle, the “Thesis Committee” met for the first time. The Thesis Committee consists of the main supervisor and two c-supervisors (selected from the docents of the GRK1172) as contact persons to support the PhD student in his/her project. The meeting of the GRK1172 was an optimal and well-used platform for intensive discussions about the new programme and for a very helpful motivation for further scientific research.




Base of GRK1172

The speaker of the GRK1172 Prof. Dr. Josef Pfeilschifter (Pharmazentrum, Goethe-University Hospital, Frankfurt) and the coordinator of the GRK1172 Prof. Dr. Dorothee von Laer (Georg-Speyer-Haus Frankfurt) gave a introduction into the organisation, aims and teaching programme offered and described the tasks of PhD students and supervisors. Prof. Dr. Heinfried Radeke (Pharmazentrum, Goethe-University Hospital, Frankfurt) and Dr. Ulrike Köhl (Paediatric Clinic of the Goethe-University Hospital) introduced the infrastructure, the equipment and the spectrum of methodological expertise available in the institutions participating in the GRK1172. Indispensible was the introduction into good scientific practice according to the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) which was given by Prof. Dr. Winfried Wels (Georg-Speyer-Haus Frankfurt). Towards the end of the first GRK1172 retreat, the PhD students elected Björn-Philipp Kloke to their PhD student speaker and contact person for overall questions.

Conclusion

Arnsburg Abbey was for two days the focus of scientific exchange and ambitious research projects. Meetings in this form shall take place regularly from now on, and the organisation of the next “Summer School” in the following year has already started.

Wissenschaftlicher Austausch im Kloster Arnsburg

04. und 05. November 2005


Wissenschaftlicher Austausch gefördert:
Erstes Retreat des GRK1172 "Biologicals" vom 4. bis 5. November 2005 wurde voller Erfolg

Zwei Tage lang haben 20 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden während des ersten Retreats des GRK1172 gemeinsam mit den Betreuerinnen und Betreuern ihrer Promotionsprojekte auf Kloster Arnsburg bei Lich getagt. Das von der DFG geförderte Graduiertenkolleg 1172 an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt wurde im Sommer 2005 eingerichtet und widmet sich der Erforschung, Entwicklung und Sicherheit von biotechnologisch hergestellten Arzneimitteln (Biologicals).

Plattform für Austausch

Vorrangige Ziele des Retreat als erstes gemeinsames Treffen aller Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des GRK1172 waren das gegenseitige Kennenlernen, der wissenschaftliche Austausch und der Aufbau von Kontakten. Im Rahmen 15-minütiger Präsentationen stellten die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten des GRK1172 sich und ihre Promotionsprojekte vor, und konnten zum Teil bereits erfolgversprechende Zwischenergebnisse vermelden. Daran schlossen sich angeregte Diskussionen im großen Kreis an und im kleineren Kreis die ersten Treffen der Doktoranden mit ihren "Thesis Committees". Diese schließen neben dem direkten Betreuer der Doktorarbeit jeweils zwei weitere Dozenten als Ko-Betreuer ein, die die Doktoranden als Ansprechpartner und Ratgeber mit unterstützen. Die Tagung des GRK1172 bot allen Teilnehmern eine hervorragende und rege genutzte Plattform für intensive Gespräche über das neue Programm und den Austausch vielfältiger und hilfreicher Anregungen für die weitere wissenschaftliche Arbeit.




Basis des GRK1172

Prof. Dr. Josef Pfeilschifter (Pharmazentrum, Klinikum der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt) als Sprecher und Prof. Dr. Dorothee von Laer (Georg-Speyer-Haus Frankfurt) als Koordinatorin des GRK1172 gaben eine Einführung in Organisationsstruktur, Ziele und Lehrangebot des Graduiertenkollegs, und beschrieben die Aufgaben der Doktoranden und Betreuer. Prof. Dr. Heinfried Radeke (Pharmazentrum, Klinikum der Goethe-Universität) und Dr. Ulrike Köhl (Kinderklinik Goethe-Universität) stellten die bei den am GRK1172 beteiligten Institutionen verfügbare Infrastruktur, die apparative Ausstattung und das Spektum an methodischer Expertise vor. Unerlässlich war auch eine Einführung in gutes, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten nach den Regeln der Deutschen Forschungsgesellschaft (DFG), die von Prof. Dr. Winfried Wels (Georg-Speyer-Haus Frankfurt) übernommen wurde.

Gegen Ende des ersten Retreat des GRK1172 wählten die Stipendiaten aus ihrer Mitte Björn-Philipp Kloke zum Doktorandensprecher und Ansprechpartner bei übergreifenden Fragen.

Fazit

Kloster Arnsburg stand zwei Tage lang im Zeichen des wissenschaftlichen Austausches und anspruchsvoller Forschungprojekte. Treffen in dieser Form sollen nun regelmäßig stattfinden, und mit den Planungen für die nächste Tagung des GRK1172 als "Summer School" im kommenden Jahr wurde begonnen.