Courses and Events

The following courses and events are an integral part of the educational programme of the GRK1172

● Core Curriculum
● 3x Summer School
● 3x Winter School
● Seminar Biopharmaceuticals
● 1 elective course
● 20 guest seminars
● Scientific Writing
● Scientific Presentation

>>> for announcement of new events and courses <<<

GRK1172 is open to students from pharmaceutical sciences, medicine, natural sciences, biotechnology and chemistry and aims to recruit excellent students. Prerequiste for admission will be a Master´s degree (MSc, MPhil), university diploma (Diplom) or state medical exam (Staatsexamen).
Outstanding students (top 5%) possessing a Bachelor of Science degree ("Fachhochschul-Abschluß") can be considered for admittance but must successfully complete an extra qualifying year. Based on the level of education of the student, one member of the Teaching Committee will compile an individual prepatory course programme together with the student. This individual qualifying programme needs to be approved by the whole Teaching Committee.

GRK1172 will award doctoral degrees in accordance with the regulations of the participating faculties. The faculties for Biochemistry, Chemistry and Pharmacy awards a Dr.phil.nat. ("Promotionsordnung der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fachbereiche der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, May 26th, 1993, last amendment July 9th, 2003). Currently the non-medical graduate students at the medical faculty receive their doctoral training and degree in collaboration with the science faculties. The medical faculty is currently establishing regulations for awarding a PhD to graduate students from the natural sciences and pharmaceutics and an MD/PhD to physicians.

In general, these regulations for awarding doctoral degrees require that the students have demonstrated the ability to understand, design, implement and critically evaluate a research process which has enabled them to make a contribution through original research. This must be done in a thesis and a successful presentation and defense of this thesis in public. We do not have specific additional formal requirements for doctorates, but GRK1172 students are expected to have documented their research contribution by at least three national or international peer-reviewed publications, at least one as first author. GRK1172 PhD students are encouraged to write and defend their thesis in English.

The scientific progress of the PhD students during their studies is reviewed in the research meetings as well as during the GRK1172 Summer School by the supervisor, the 2 co-supervisors and the Scientific Advisory Board. Ideally, the 2 co-supervisors should have different backgrounds then the main supervisor, so that the PhD student has close personal contact with scientists having different expertises. The function of the


supervisor team is to monitor the progress of each student and to encourage GRK1172 students in their endeavours to develop and critically evaluate their research goals and strategies. The supervisor committee should be the first to identify potential problems with the GRK1172 educational programme and is responsible for designing alternative courses of action to help the students to achieve their overall goal. A half-time evaluation is held after 18 months in order the quality standards are met.

In addition to the doctorate, GRK1172 awards a diploma in Drug Research, Development and Safety at the end of the teaching curriculum. This diploma is based on the successful completion of an educational programme from the FIRST course catalogue. Exams are a combination of oral or written tests and practical tasks, e.g. the preparation of a business plan, project outline or grant application, or designing a preclinical safety test programme.

The 3-year curriculum

The transfer of key knowledge and skills specific to the field of drug research and development is a multi-stage, three-year process (plus an additional qualifying year for those graduates with a BSc/Fachhochschul-degree):

- Catch-up term & 1st year

Of primary concern in the first three months is to establish a common knowledge and methodical platform for all of the PhD students. Here, graduates from the natural sciences are introduced into medical terminology and pharmacology (Basics in Medicine & Pharmacology), while pharmacists and physicians aquire the basics in molecular and cellular biology (Molecular Medicine, Biological and Medicinal Chemistry). The first modules of the GRK1172/FIRST Core Curriculum on the basics in drug research, development, safety, as well as target identification and drug optimisation will be taught in the first year.

- 2nd & 3rd year

In the 2nd and 3rd years, the PhD students receive training in the fields of preclinical safety testing, animal models, drug formulation developement, clinical studies, German/European/international regulations (GMP, GLP, GCP, ICH), drug approval and basic marketing techniques. In the 2nd year, the PhD students take also courses such as Scientific Writing and Presentation, and one or two elective courses according to their interests and topic of their PhD research.

 

Credit Points

Credit Point System:
All courses have defined aims and are intended for a certain groups of PhD students.  For successful participation, the PhD students have to contribute actively to the course, ideally this should be done by problem-orientated learning (e.g. in a small group) rather than a written test.  The successful participation will be documented with Credit Points which reflect the time expenditure for the course.  The number of Credit Points per course as well as the number of Credit Points to obtain during the PhD is fixed to 30 Credit Points.

Thesis Committee Report

Thesis Committee Report:
The Thesis Committee (the supervisor and the 2 co-supervisor) discuss the progress of the Phd project at least twice a year with the PhD student, this is done on the basis of the research talk by the student at the yearly Summer and Winter School.  The members of the Thesis Committee and the PhD student report the aims reached to tat date, discuss problems and their possible solutions, and if necessary adjust together the aims of the project.  In those cases where the project may fail, the committee will search with the PhD candidate for a redirection of the project. The results of these Thesis Committee Meetings are recorded in written form.  The PhD student is responsible to obtain these twice yearly meetings.

Kurse und Events

Die folgenden Kurse und Veranstaltungen sind ein integraler Bestandteil des Bildungsprogramms des GRK1172

● Kern-Curriculum
● 3x Summer School
● 3x Winter School
● Seminar "Biopharmazeutika"
● 1 Wahlkurs
● 20 Gastseminare
● Wissenschaftliches Schreiben
● Wissenschaftliche Präsentation

>>> Ankündigungen für Kurse und Veranstaltungen <<<

Das GRK1172 steht allen Studenten der pharmazeutischen Wissenschaften, Medizin, Naturwissenschaften, Biotechnologie und Chemie offen und hat das Ziel, exzellente Studenten anzuwerben. Voraussetzung für die Zulassung ist ein Masterabschluss (MSc, MPhil), Universitätsdiplom oder Staatsexamen. Herausragende Studenten (die besten 5%) mit einem Fachhochschulabschluss können zugelassen werden, müssen aber ein zusätzliches qualifizierendes Jahr absolvieren. Auf der Grundlage des Bildungsstandes des Studenten erstellt ein Mitglied des Unterrichtskomitees zusammen mit dem Studenten ein individuelles vorbereitendes Kursprogramm. Dieses individuelle qualifizierende Programm muss durch das ganze Unterrichtskomitee genehmigt sein.

GRK1172 vergibt Doktortitel in Übereinstimmung mit den Promotionsordnungen der teilnehmenden Fachbereiche. Die Fachbereiche Biochemie, Chemie und Pharmazie verleihen einen Dr.phil.nat. ("Promotionsordnung der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fachbereiche der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, 26. Mai 1993, letzte Änderungen am 9. Juli 2003). Die nichtmedizinischen Doktoranden am Fachbereich Medizin erhalten gegenwärtig ihre Doktorausbildung in Zusammenarbeit mit den wissenschaftlichen Fakultäten. Der Fachbereich Medizin erstellt zur Zeit eine Promotionsordnung für Doktoranden der Naturwissenschaften und der Pharmazie sowie eine für ein MD/PhD für Ärzte.

Im allgemeinen erfordern diese Promotionsordnungen, dass die Studenten ihre Fähigkeit, ein Forschungsvorhaben zu verstehen, zu konzipieren, durchzuführen und kritisch zu bewerten unter Beweis gestellt haben. Dies geschieht durch die Doktorarbeit selbst und durch eine erfolgreiche Präsentation und Verteidigung dieser Arbeit. Wir haben keine weiteren spezifischen Anforderungen für Doktorate; es wird aber von den GRK1172-Studenten erwartet, dass sie ihren Forschungsbeitrag durch mindestens drei nationale oder internationale, von Experten begutachtete Veröffentlichungen dokumentieren, mindestens eine davon als Erstautor. GRK1172-Studenten werden dazu ermutigt, ihre Doktorarbeit auf Englisch zu schreiben und zu verteidigen.

Der wissenschaftliche Fortschritt der Doktoranden wird durch den Betreuer und die zwei Ko-Supervisoren sowie den wissenschaftlichen Beirat in Forschungssymposien und während der Summer School begutachtet. Idealerweise haben die beiden Ko-Supervisoren andere Hintergründe als der Hauptbetreuer, so dass der Doktorand einen engen persönlichen Kontakt mit Wissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Expertisen hat. Die Aufgabe des Betreuerteams ist es, den Fortschritt jedes einzelnen Studenten zu überwachen und GRK1172-Studenten bei der Herausforderung zu ermutigen, ihre Forschungsziele und –strategien zu entwickeln und kritisch zu bewerten. Die Betreuer sollten die ersten sein, die mögliche Probleme mit dem GRK1172-Ausbildungsprogramm erkennen; sie sind


verantwortlich für die Konzeption alternativer Handlungsoptionen, um Studenten zu helfen, ihr Hauptziel zu erreichen. Nach 18 Monaten wird eine Halbzeitbegutachtung durchgeführt, um sicher zu gehen, dass die Qualitätsstandards erreicht wurden.

Zusätzlich zur Promotion verleiht das GRK1172 am Ende des Lehrprogramms ein Diplom in Arzneiforschung, -entwicklung und –sicherheit. Dieses Diplom basiert auf dem erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Ausbildungsprogramms aus dem FIRST Kursangebot. Die Examen sind eine Kombination mündlicher und schriftlicher Tests sowie praktischer Aufgaben, bspw. der Erstellung eines Geschäftsplans, Projektentwurfs, Antrags auf Fördermittel oder Konzepts eines vorklinischen Sicherheitstestprogramms.

Der 3-Jahreslehrplan.

Die Übertragung von Schlüsselwissen und –fähigkeiten, spezifisch für das Gebiet der Arzneimittelforschung und –entwicklung, ist ein dreijähriger Prozess mit mehreren Stadien (zusätzlich eines qualifizierenden Jahres für Fachhochschulabgänger und Inhaber eines BSc).

Aufholzeit & das 1. Jahr

Während der ersten drei Monate besteht das Hauptanliegen darin, bei allen Doktoranden gemeinsame Kenntnis- und Methodengrundlagen zu schaffen. Dabei werden Doktoranden der Naturwissenschaften in die medizinische Fachterminologie und Pharmakologie eingeführt (Basics in Medicine & Pharmacology), während Pharmazeuten und Ärzte die Grundlagen der Molekular- und Zellbiologie erwerben (Molecular Medicine, Biological and Medicinal Chemistry). Die ersten Module des GRK1172/FIRST-Kernkurrikulums zu den Grundlagen der Arzneimittelforschung, -entwicklung, und -sicherheit, sowie der Identifikation von Angriffszielen und Optimierung von Wirkstoffen werden im ersten Jahr unterrichtet.

Das 2. und 3. Jahr

Im zweiten und dritten Jahr erhalten die Doktoranden eine Ausbildung auf den Gebieten der vorklinischen Sicherheitsprüfung, der Tiermodelle, der Entwicklung von Arzneimittelformulierungen, der klinischen Studien, der deutschen, europäischen und internationalen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen (GMP, GLP, GCP, ICH), der Arzneimittelgenehmigung und der Grundlagen der Vermarktung. Im zweiten Jahr belegen die Doktoranden auch Kurse wie bspw. zu wissenschaftlichem Schreiben und Präsentieren, sowie ein oder zwei Wahlkurse gemäß ihrer Interessen und dem Thema ihrer Doktorarbeit.

 

Credit Points

Credit Point System:
Alle Lehrveranstaltungen beinhalten definierte Ziele, wenden sich gezielt an eine Gruppe von Studenten und die erfolgreiche Teilnahme erfordert einen aktiven Beitrag der Studenten, der idealerweise nicht in Form eines Testes sondern bevorzugt in Form einer anderen eigenständigen Leistung (wie z.B. Lösung eines gestellten Problems in Gruppenarbeit) dokumentiert wird. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einem Kurs wird mit Hilfe von Credit Points, die den Zeitaufwand für eine Lehrveranstaltung widerspiegeln, dokumentiert. Die Zahl der zu erreichenden Credit Points ist mit 30 definiert.

Thesis Committee Report

Thesis Committee Report:
Das Thesis Committee (Betreuer und 2 Co-Betreuer) informiert sich mindestens zweimal jährlich anhand der Vorträge der Doktoranden bei der Summer und Winter School über den Fortgang der jeweiligen Promotionsprojekte. Die Mitglieder des Thesis Committee halten im Gespräch mit den Doktoranden das Erreichte fest, diskutieren Probleme und mögliche Lösungen und passen, wenn nötig, die Ziele des Promotionsprojektes gemeinsam an. In schwierigen Fällen, in denen das Projekt zu scheitern droht, wird hier nach einer Neuausrichtung der Arbeiten gesucht. Die Ergebnisse der Beratungsgespräche werden schriftlich festgehalten. Die Studenten sind dafür verantwortlich, zweimal im Jahr einen solchen Bericht ihres Thesis Committees einzuholen.