Network

GRK1172 members coordinate and/or participate in a number of regional, national and international scientific networks to guarantee excellent science and education. All these initiatives are also dedicated to the training of groups of PhD students with the aim of building a strong and competent foundation for the next generation of scientists in biomedical and translational research.



The GRK1172 has already established the structure of an early drug pipeline. Each developmental stage is represented by several projects that cover different substance classes. Novel drug targets for cancer, cardiovascular diseases and inflammatory disorders are identified and validated in close collaboration within the network. For lead identification and optimization, innovative methodologies, such as combinatorial chemistry and evolutionary methods (SELEX, phage display, yeast-two-hybrid), are used. Lead compounds are further refined based on structural and biochemical analysis in close collaborations. In addition to the classical biologics, which are growth factors and antibodies, highly innovative compounds are represented, such as RNA aptamers, siRNAs, immunotoxins and stem cell gene therapies.

The classical phase of preclinical safety testing and GMP production is not attractive for a doctoral thesis, but will be represented by the regulatory authorities (PEI, teaching) and pharmaceutical companies (teaching and demonstration).

Several biologics developed in Frankfurt, such as NK cell therapy
for leukemia (Klingebiel), stem cell gene therapy for inherited immunodeficiency (Hoelzer/Ott/Grez), gene therapy for HIV Infection (von Laer), and immunotoxins for breast cancer (Wels) are already in phase I clinical testing. Development of these candidates has generated excellent cooperative networks between industry, regulatory institutions and academia. Thereby, considerable expertise on preclinical and clinical drug development was generated also on the academic side, thus paving the way into clinical testing for further up-coming drug candidates.

Other relevant networks are the SFB RNA-ligand interactions and the BMBF-funded German stem cell gene therapy network TreatID coordinated in Frankfurt.

The students that receive a PhD within the GRK1172 will be highly qualified to work in the innovative and expanding field of biologics in academia as well as in industry.

Netzwerk

GRK1172-Mitglieder koordinieren eine Anzahl regionaler, nationaler und internationaler wissenschaftlicher Netzwerke, und/oder nehmen daran teil, um eine exzellente Wissenschaft und Lehre zu garantieren. Alle diese Initiativen widmen sich auch der Ausbildung von Doktorandengruppen, mit dem Ziel, eine starke und kompetente nächste Generation von Wissenschaftlern in der biomedizinischen und angewandten Forschung zu gründen.



Das GRK1172 hat bereits die Struktur einer frühen Arzneimittel-Pipeline etabliert. Jedes Entwicklungsstadium wird durch einige Projekte repräsentiert, die verschiedene Substanzklassen abdecken. Neue Angriffsziele für Arzneimittel in Krebs, kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen und Entzündungsgeschehen sind identifiziert und validiert in enger Zusammenarbeit innerhalb des Netzwerkes. Zur zielführenden Identifikation und Optimierung werden innovative Methoden wie kombinatorische Chemie und evolutionäre Methoden (SELEX, phage display, yeast two hybrid) benutzt. Zusätzlich zu den klassischen Biologika wie Wachstumsfaktoren und Antikörper sind hoch innovative Verbindungen wie RNA-Aptamere, siRNAs, Immuntoxine und die Stammzell-Gentherapie vertreten. Klassische Themen wie vorklinische Sicherheitsuntersuchungen und GMP-Produktion sind nicht Gegenstand der Doktorarbeit, werden aber durch Genehmigungsbehörden (PEI) und Pharmafirmen in Seminaren und Kursen mit Demonstrationen unterrichtet.

Einige in Frankfurt entwickelte Biologika wie die NK-Zelltherapie gegen Leukämie (Klingebiel), Stammzell-Gentherapie gegen angeborene Immundefizienz (Hoelzer/Ott/Grez), Gentherapie

gegen HIV-Infektion (von Laer), und Immuntoxine gegen Brustkrebs (Wels) befinden sich bereits in der Phase I der klinischen Untersuchung. Die Entwicklung dieser Kandidaten hat zu exzellenten Kooperationsnetzwerken zwischen Industrie, Genehmigungsbehörden und der akademischen Forschung geführt. Dadurch entstand auch auf der akademischen Seite eine beachtenswerte Expertise zur präklinischen und klinischen Arzneimittelentwicklung, die zukünftigen Wirkstoffkandidaten den Weg zur klinischen Untersuchung ebnet.

Weitere bedeutende Netzwerke sind der SFB RNA-Ligand-Wechselwirkungen und das BMBF-finanzierte Deutsche Stammzelltherapie Netzwerk TreatID, das von Frankfurt aus koordiniert wird.

Die Studenten, die im Rahmen des GRK1172 ihren Doktortitel erwerben, werden hochqualifiziert sein, um auf dem innovativen und sich entwickelnden Gebiet der Biologika sowohl im akademischen als auch im industriellen Umfeld zu arbeiten.